Mayte liked my exchange!

I just got an email this morning that Mayte loves the strawberry fob that I send her for the Blackbird Designs exchange.  I stitched a design from the Wild Berries lage of Joyeaux Noel.  It was the first time I tried coffee dying.  I think I was rather brave since I coffee dyed it AFTER I stitched it!  The linen actually started out white.  I wasn’t too worried about the threads though since this was stitched in DMC.  I did the strawberry leaves a little different.  I drew upon some of my quilting knowledge and used Steam a Seam which is used for fusible applique.  It worked really well!

It was really a fun little stitch and the first strawberry I’ve ever made.

BBD Exchange for Mayte

It’s snowing like crazy today so it’s a work from home day.  My animals will be happy.  They love it when mommy is home.  My own mother is out of town taking care of my grandmother in Charleston.  That means that I need to clear her driveway as well as the 89 year old woman down the street from her so I’ll be doing a lot of shoving.  I have a snowblower for my own house but I can’t get it down the street to work on my mother’s house.

I also have some GREAT news and a big brag.  I’m so proud of my little sister.  She has been going to school to become a Surgical Technician.  She’s almost done with the classroom studies (12 months) and she’s about to start in April her 3 month internship at a hospital.  She was told the other day which hospital she is going to.  She has been accepted at Morristown Memorial which is one of the top hospitals in the area and a trauma center.  Leigh is the first person EVER from her program to be accepted at this elite hosptial.  The hospital was told that they are getting the best of the best.  Leigh is beside herself with excitment and I’m so excited for her.  She’s worked so hard.  She has apirations of starting out as a surgical technician and then go back to school to be an RN.  I am so proud of my little sister!  I know Morristown is lucky to have her because she’s smart, committed, hardworking and serious.  I know she’s going to do great.

Well I have to finish feeding the crew!  Thanks for reading my blog!

12 Responses

  1. Very pretty!

  2. Love your strawberry. It turned out so cute. The Steam a Seam is a great idea.

  3. Such a wonderful accomplishment for your sister! Give her a huge congratulations. And I love your Strawberry Fob. I like tea or coffee dyeing mine after I’ve sittched them because then the threads tone down a little. Just watch out for the DMC reds – sometimes they can run.

  4. What a cute strawberry! I love it! Congratulations to your sister.

  5. Congrats to your sis!

    The strawberry is wonderful, great finishing as always.

  6. Love the colors on the fob. Congratulations to your sister!

  7. Your strawberry is just too gorgeous for words. You finished it just beautifully.
    Love
    Patti xxx

  8. Very pretty! What did you put inside?

  9. Your strawberry finish is fantastic! i love everything about it!

    Congratulations to your sister!

  10. Wow that strawberry is gorgeous! Beautifully finished! Congrast to your sister what an awesome feather in her hat!

  11. Very cute strawberry!
    Congrats to your sis.

  12. OHHHH this is exquisite. I absolutely adore it. How lovely!!

Leave a Reply

