I had a birthday!!!

Well I did it… I turned 35. I can’t believe it. Wednesday was my birthday. I took the day off from work since I believe no one should ever work on their birthday.  I did a little stitching and had lunch with my good friend Donna.  After lunch we went and played with her foster kittens.  Oh my goodness they were adorable.  If I didn’t already have 9 cats I’d be in trouble!  then later I went out to the Macaroni Grill with my mother and sister and had carrot cake at mother’s house afterwards.  It was so good!

I got a slew of wonderful presents!  My friends and family really spoil me.  I’m so lucky!!  LOL…  Seriously though I am very fortunate to have such wonderful people in my life.  As I’ve grown older I have come to realize how the most important things in life really are friends and family.

I wanted to share pictures of the wonderful things that I received!

In the morning the mail came and delivered a present from one of my best friends, JLee.  She sent me a chart, fabric and finishing fabric for a design that I really love!  It’s a Heartstrings Halloween design with a cat.  How perfect!  And the finishing fabric is PERFECT.  It’s like it was made for it.

Here’s the chart she sent me…

Chart from JLee

Chart from JLee

Here’s the fabic she sent me.  In the words of JLee “Oh-La-La Jamaica!”  Look at the cats on the finishing fabric.  They MATCH the chart!

Fabric from JLee

Fabric from JLee

My sister Leigh is alwaysvery thoughtful with her gifts.  She gave me a Poodle mug and a gift certificate to Kindred Quilts.  I collect great mugs with cats (and poodles when I can find them).  The gift certificate will be FUN to spend since I love my local quilt shop.  The mug is adorable.  She found it on Cafe Press.

Mug from Leigh

Mug from Leigh

My mother gave 4 shirts, a quilt kit and a new collar.  The quilt kit is beautiful.  I had picked it out from Pennington Quilt Works.  It’s constructed like a chunky log cabin and is in bright and bold colors.  I knew I was getting the kit ahead of time and now I’m very excited to start it! 

Quilt Kit from Mom

Quilt Kit from Mom

Here’s a close-up of the picture that it will turn into.  Isn’t it funky?  I really love it.
Quilt Kit from Mom Close-up

Quilt Kit from Mom Close-up

Then my mom gave me a beautful new collar that she made.  I had asked for a collar for my birthday and I’m so glad I got one.  This particular fabric was cut on the bias to make diamonds.  It’s lined in turquoise silk.
Collar from Mom

Collar from Mom

Joey is wearing his new collar.  He loves getting new clothes and gets so excited when I change his collar.  It’s really so cute.  He runs upstairs with me and sits expectantly while I put tags on.  He just about throws himself into the collar.  What a ham.  He’s a real Fashionista!  I just groomed him yesterday so I figured I’d get a picture of my squeaky clean poodle wearing his new duds…
Joey wearing his new collar

Joey wearing his new collar

8 Responses

  1. Sweet b-day haul!

  2. Happy birthday, Stacy! Many happy returns!

    Awesome, incredible, fantastic fabric for that chart!

    I just love Joey’s new collar!

  3. What a lovely haul for your birthday. Your pooch looks really handsome in his new collar.

  4. Happy Birthday to you. Happy Birthday to you. Happy Birthday Dear Stacy. Happy Birthday to you! I also wanted to thank you for the AWESOME Blackbird Designs Exchange you sent me. The needle book is GORGEOUS!!! I absolutely LOVE it and the colors you chose are my FAVORITE!!! Thank you so much!!!! It is so wonderful and couldn’t have arrived at a better time. I just spent 14 hours on a train coming home and got your exchange in the mail. I will post with pics on the BBDE Blog tomorrow. I just wanted to say a very special thank you!. I hope you have a WONDERFUL and very HAPPY Birthday. May all your wishes come true.
    Jenna

  5. Happy birthday Stacy! Hope all your wishes come true. Great b-day presents! That collar and Joey are beautiful!

  6. Happy Birthday Stacy, looks like you had a fabulous day with lots of lovely gifts! Joey looks very dapper in his new collar!

  7. Well Happy Birthday! Great new stuff!

  8. Happy birthday! You received some very wonderful gifts :)

Leave a Reply

