Birthday Gift from Elizabeth (and other stuff)

Holy smokes I had to post this right away….  I have to share pictures….  Yesterday I took a class with Catherine Theron called Americana Sewing Roll.  I’ll get to the class in a few minutes.  Elizabeth took the class with me and she brought me the most gorgeous birthday present!  I can’t believe what she made for me.

Elizabeth took different designs for peacocks from magazines and adapted them to fit on some Tokens and Trifles cards and made me the most beautiful pin cushion.  Peacocks are my favorite motif.  I can’t believe how beautiful it came out.

Front view of the pincushion that Elizabeth made for me

Front view of the pincushion that Elizabeth made for me

Another view of my new beautiful pin cushion

Another view of my new beautiful pin cushion

You can see from the picture that she printed “A Token of Friendship” on the side.  The other side has hers and my initials with the year.

A better picture of the front of the pincushion

A better picture of the front of the pincushion

A better view of the back of the pincushion

A better view of the back of the pincushion

I tell you…  nothing is better than a handmade gift.  I love the thought and love that went into this.  Thank you Elizabeth…  I’ll always treasure this.  Doesn’t she do a beautiful job at finishing too?

I have the best friends…  that I am sure of…  My other good friend, Viv, gave me a sneaky peaky at something that she made for me.  It still needs the finishing but I was floored.  She stitched me “When Stitcher Gather” by Victoria Sampler.  I can’t wait until the finishing is done!  She doesn’t know where to find fusible fleece so I’ll give her some…  QUICK VIVIE I CAN’T WAIT!!!!

Yesterday was really so much fun.  I’ve been waiting for this class from Catherine Theron for nearly a year.  The Americana Sewing Roll is gorgeous.  I’m so lucky that Catherine is a member of my local sampler guild, Sampler Makers.  We often get to take classes from her and I do love her work.

The Americana Sewing Roll is stitched in Florentine Stitch on one side and then in a variety of stitches on the inside.  It also makes a needlebook and scissor fob.  Here’s a scan from the cover of the kit but I have to say that this is not a good picture…  it’s so much more beautiful in person…  I love the colors especially.  The colors on this scan are washed out but the colors in person are an array of pinks, peaches and browns for the Florentine Stitch.  I got a bit of the Florentine outline done in class.  I resisted buying the scrimshaw pieces for this one because I really can’t afford them but they are perfect.  Maybe when I finish the piece I’ll treat myself.  Until then I’m perfectly happy with the project!

Catherine Theron Americana Sewing Roll

Catherine Theron Americana Sewing Roll

I also wanted to share a picture of two new collars that my mom made for me.  They are just beautiful…  She surprised me with a Support Our Troops collar and a ladybug collar.  Joey has been wearing the Support Our Troops collar for the past few days in memory of those lost on 9/11.

Dog Collars from Mom

Dog Collars from Mom

Today will be fun.  I’m going to the Greyhound Friends of NJ Fall Picnic.  Joey is staying home for this one but we’ll be taking Trey and Preston.  I’ll have to bring my camera!

Have a great day everyone!

5 Responses

  1. Holy carp, Stacy! Your birthday present was a doozy! How perfectly wonderful. I wants one…

    Love the sewing roll but that pincushion is especially awesome!

    Oh my! The collars are great. Does your mom use a pattern for these? My Border Collie really needs one!

  2. Great birthday present–just awesome! And that sewing roll—well, what a magnificient project to be working on. It’s beautiful.

  3. That pincushion is stunningly beautiful! Lucky gal & happy b-day!

  4. What a beautiful, creative gift, that pin cushion!

  5. Extraordinaire!!!
    Françoise

Leave a Reply

