A gift from Mom and a Greyt new foster!

My mom is so sweet.  She surprised me with a gift.  When we were in the quilt shop I noticed a mug and tin set that had cats all over it.  I collect unique cat mugs but I didn’t buy it since it was a little pricey.  My mother went back later and bought it for me as a little gift.  I love the mug and I’ve put the tin and the coaster in my curio.

Mug, Tin and Coaster - gift from Mom

Mug, Tin and Coaster - gift from Mom

Isn’t it sweet?  It has the rhyme “Pussy cat pussy cat where have you been”.  I’ve already used the mug!

Yesterday was fun although I really didn’t get in a lot of stitching.  I went with my mother down to South Jersey to pick up her new foster, Honey Harry.  He is a Honey!  It was about a 2 hour drive.  We realized that we were passing Pennington Quilt Works on the way down and we pulled in.  They were closed!  Neither of us have been there before.  The staff let us in since there was a class going and we were able to quickly walk around the great expanse.  It was amazing.  I think we’ll go back this Thursday night when they have late hours.

The kennel where the Greyhound group was having their open house was GORGEOUS.  They have a wonderful fenced in area and the kennel area was immaculate.  Harry wasn’t out with the other fosters since he was too traumatized.  We fitted him with a harness and took the 2 hour drive back home.  Harry is shy but I think he also doesn’t really understand that he can get human attention just by walking up.  Over the course of the evening he warmed up quite a bit and was already light years better than Cat was when we got him.  He also walks like a dream!  I was able to walk him and Joey at the same time.  Joey is like walking a Kong because he bounces and leaps.  Harry just stuck by my side.

I had my camera with me and I got some great pictures of Harry.  But first…  a great picture of my baby, Catnap…

Catnap in the Garden

Catnap in the Garden

He’s actually standing in front of his digging hole in the back.  I just liked the picture.  What a handsome boy!  He also seems to like Harry.  We can tell instantly about a foster’s temperament by Cat’s reaction.  If Cat seems to like them we know the foster is rock solid citizen.

Here’s Harry!

Harry Honey

Harry Honey

We initially left his harness on to help him up the porch stairs.  He figured them out on his own!  We were very impressed.  Isn’t he gorgeous?  He’s a little thin but my mom will fix that pretty quickly.

Harry was very inquisitive about the back yard.  he quickly found digging hole #2.  It’s back behind the bushes.

Harry finding digging hole #2

Harry finding digging hole #2

He found his way in!  Here’s a picture of him in the bushes.  See him poking his head up?  That’s Preston in the front.

Harry in digging hole #2

Harry in digging hole #2

Here’s Harry getting out of the bushes.  He’s really a funny dog with loads of personality.

Harry coming out of the bushes

Harry coming out of the bushes

And here’s one last sweet picture.  Here’s my mom with Harry.  Isn’t he a love?

Harry with my Mom

Harry with my Mom

He’s already a different dog.  The first picture I saw of him hewas so scared with his tail tucked up under him.  I knows he’s going to turn into a fantastic Greyhound with a little TLC from my Mom.  She’s good at caring for the shy ones.

2 Responses

  1. What a beautiful dog-great story. Nice gift from your mom too–she’s a good egg!

  2. Harry is a very handsome fella, and I thing, a very lucky one to have been selected by your mom.
    Love the cat mug set – even tho my thing is butterflies!

Leave a Reply

