My Stitching Frustration Saga

I’m really frustrated about the HDF conversion for VoHRH.  There’s a part of me that worries that if the colors are so off in the first block that the whole thing might end up looking funky.  So now I’m trying to figure out what to do next.  I want to stitch this in NPI’s so that it looks right.  I probably have a few of the colors already but at the same time I don’t want to mortgage my house to get the threads either.  I think what I’m going to do is rip out what I have far and get what threads I need for the first block only right now.  I will be stitching this slowly anyway so that way I could spread out the investment over a year or so instead of a big hunk of it right now.

That also means that I have a slot open in my rotation.  I’m thinking I want to put Mirabilia Autumn Queen in that slot since she’s been a WIP for many years and I do really want to finish her.  Plus, finishing Halloween Fairy put me into a Mirabilia mood.

I think I’m going to make another modification to my rotation to add a rule to allow myself to start a small project at any time as long as I can quickly start and finish it in under 20 hours and that I don’t let it drag past that round of the rotation.  I am thinking about adding this rule because I really want to stitch Sunflower Fairy which I hear is a quick stitch.  That way I can also get my “fix” of finishes as I go and I may be more apt to actually stick to my rotation.

*******

Well I just talked to Drema at Needlecraft Corner.  Wow is she nice!  Very easy to work with.  I think everything is going to be okay.  She is having a 20% off sale right now so it’s a good time to get the silks!  Yeah!!!  So I’ll rip out what I have so far and will stitch this on 36 ct which is what I already have.  You can’t beat $2.96/skein for NPI anywhere.

Revamping my rotation again…  this goes back in!  But I’m going to keep Autumn Queen in there as well.

*******

One more edit…  I got a very nice note from Vikki regarding the conversion.  She was very apologetic about the conversion and it’s not her fault. The conversion was done from the DMC’s which I understand have a different look than the NPI’s to begin with.  I think it’s just a matter of a conversion done from a conversion.  Vikki offered to exchange any of the colors that I have and to help me with the conversion which I thought was enormously sweet of her.  I’ve already bought the NPI’s so I declined.  I love the HDF silks but in this case I’m going to stick with the threads as charted.

6 Responses

  1. That is too bad about the HDF conversion, but I ran into that same problem too and have never ordered her threads since. I love the feel of them, but not the conversion. Maybe someone like Dreema at Needlecraft Corner has them on sale and you could at least start with the colors for the block you need.

  2. I have to say, I love how the HDF feel but I am not always crazy about the conversions. Almost all of them are done to the DMC and don’t look anything like the NPIs. I am doing the same thing, just buying for a block at a time :-).

  3. Your fairy finish is just great! She’s beautiful!

  4. I’m glad it worked out, Stacy. You’ll be MUCH happier with the NPIs!

    If you give me a list of what you still need, I’ll check my stash and maybe we can work out a swap.

  5. HI Stacy,
    VoHRH is such a lovely piece I hope you do use a thread that will make you happy in years to come. Your Halloween Fairey is looking beautiful.
    I couldn’t find an email addy for you so I’m going to post a coment on the Valdani threads for Sunflower Fairey. IMHO they are not fun to work with. The thread is matt no shine and uneven in thickness. I am using it for Quakers and Quilts from Rosewood Mannor it cost $42.00 for 13 balls. It is intended for needle punch and maybe just great for that but on 32 count I have to strip one of the three strands out and then it is useless because of the way it is dyed I can not match it to other striped strands. I would be happy to send you a sample to try so you can decide for your self.
    Shay

  6. Restarting a project is always the pits but you are going to love stitching VoHRH in NPI silks! I’m on block #4 now and am loving it, the colors are fantastic!

Leave a Reply

