My Christmas in July Exchange for Carol

I just read that Carol received the pinkeep that I made for her for the HOE Christmas in July Exchange!  She really liked it.  Yeah!  I admit I have really admired her work and finishing so I felt a little bit of pressure on this one.  I’m pleased with howmy pinkeep came out, especially since it was my first.

HOE Christmas in July Exchange for Carol

HOE Christmas in July Exchange for Carol

I chose an ornament from the latest Just Cross Stitch by My Big Toe.  In the magazine, this design is stitched with white floss over-1 on red linen.  I decided to switch things up a bit and stitched this on light colored linen, over-2 with a red Threadworx floss.

I also made my own pins!  I painted the heads of regular pins with red acrylic and then sprayed a gloss finisher on them.  I think they came out nicely.  Here’s a closeup of the finishing…

HOE Christmas in July Exchange for Carol (Side View)

HOE Christmas in July Exchange for Carol (Side View)

3 Responses

  1. I just love it Stacy – very impressive! Thank you so much ;-)

  2. Very nice finish. Perfect stitching and finishing. I’m sure that Carol will adore it!

  3. What a lovely pinkeep!

Leave a Reply

