Sherri Jones Finish and a Great Weekend!

I’m SO excited!  I just put the finishing touches on my Miser Bag from Sherri Jones’ class kit Rings of Roses Reticule.  I don’t have the smalls done yet but the miser bag is really the main part of the project.  Yesterday, Elizabeth came over and we barricaded ourselves in my loft to finish up stitching the rings (12 foot long lengths of perle silk and naughty critters don’t mix…  they were banned from the work area).

Here it is!

Sherri Jones Rings of Roses Miser Bag

Sherri Jones Rings of Roses Miser Bag

Rings of Roses Miser Bag hanging up

Rings of Roses Miser Bag hanging up

The rings are actually made from curtain rings and covered in hedebo buttonhole stitches.  The lining is dupioni silk.

It was a great weekend in all.  I took pictures of my Floss Tag Exchange (which I mailed off this morning) but those pictures will have to wait since it’s still a secret…

Joey had a GREAT time playing over at my mother’s house this weekend.  I don’t have a fence so he doesn’t get off leash play at home.  It turns out that he loves to play with Sophie (my mom’s DBF’s dog).  Joey and I went over to my mother’s after I groomed him.  I brought my camera since I was sure I’d get some good shots.  I was right….  Joey played with Sophie and Catnap (one of my mother’s Greyhounds).

Here’s pictures of happy-poodle-and-gang…..

Cute action shot of Joey running

Cute action shot of Joey running

I love this picture....  Sophie is in hot pursuit!

I love this picture.... Sophie is in hot pursuit!

This is one of my favorite pictures...  Cat, Joey and Sophie all playing together

This is one of my favorite pictures... Cat, Joey and Sophie all playing together

Joey and Cat together...  my two favorite dogs in the world...

Joey and Cat together... my two favorite dogs in the world...

This is Sophie...  she's a sweetheart...

This is Sophie... she's a sweetheart...

Cat looks like he's smiling in this picture

Cat looks like he's smiling in this picture

Isn't Cat the most gorgeous Greyhound?  Do you like his collar?  Made by my mother of course...

Isn't Cat the most gorgeous Greyhound? Do you like his collar? Made by my mother of course...

When Joey stopped running I was able to get some portait shots

When Joey stopped running I was able to get some portait shots

Joey looks very serious here...  LOL...  he's a silly Poodle

Joey looks very serious here... LOL... he's a silly Poodle

Another really nice head shot

Another really nice head shot

Later on, we had a party in the backyard for a friend of my mother’s and mine.  It was perfect weather.  Good friends, good food.  Couldn’t have been nicer.

I was able to take a great picture of one of my mother’s other Greyhounds.  This is Trey.  He’s such a handsome dog and a total sweetheart.  Another great picture of a gorgeous collar!  I love this one…  it’s Koi with gold etching…

Trey at Barb's Party

Trey at Barb's Party

Then I got the picture of the century!  One of my mother’s friends brought over the best Sangria I think I’ve ever had.  Well as it turns out…  Trey is crazy for fruit.  I had my camera out and caught him in the act.  This is Trey trying to drink my mother’s Sangria!  (Don’t worry…  no drunk dogs here… )

Trey trying to drink my mother's Sangria!

Trey trying to drink my mother's Sangria!

5 Responses

  1. I love the bag! It’s gorgeous!

    Great photos of the pups, too. The one of Trey going after your mom’s drink is too funny!

  2. Just WOW. I love that bag so much. I wish I had done that stitch around my mirror on BBP.

    Love that picture of Joey & Cat together. They both look like they just heard the funniest thing.

  3. Popping in (finally!) to Welcome you to the Totally Useless SAL. Haven’t been able to get in much computer time lately. I love your bag. We used to do those rings when I was young but we never made anything this beautiful out of them. Your fur babies are so pretty, great pictures. I’ll be back again and read more, but my eyes are about computered-out today. Have fun with our little SAL.

    Oh, and by the way would you please either leave a comment on my blog or e-mail me with a general (City/State) geographic location for our list, thanks.

  4. Your bag is gorgeous! I love the techniques you used for it! Your doggies are so funny and pretty!
    Have a nice weekend!

  5. Hello,
    My name is Linda Bulger and I am the cousin of Mal Rebhahn. She sent me you web page so I could see your greys. We have a grey named Harley . He came to us from the NGAP in Philly. He retired from a track in Kansas. I would love to send you a picture of our baby but I could not fine your e-mail address. He is a red and looks a lot like your baby CAT. Please drop me a line. I think your cross stitch work in wonderful. Your puppies look like they have found their place on this earth with you.

Leave a Reply

