Exchange Update and JLee’s B-Day Present

I don’t have much time this morning but I really wanted to get this up on my blog….  I received an incredible exchange from Lillie  and my exchange to Nic was also received!  I had to post pictures….

This is from Lillie…  It cam all the way from Malaysia in record time!  Oh my goodness did I get spoiled!  She made me a pinkeep from pinkeep from part of a design by Tourniton, Dans de la foret.  It’s gorgeous and she really finished it beautifully…

HOE Woodland Exchange from Lillie - Front Picture

HOE Woodland Exchange from Lillie - Front Picture

Here’s a close-up of her beautiful stitching…

HOE Woodland Exchange from Lillie - Closeup of Front

HOE Woodland Exchange from Lillie - Closeup of Front

Not only that, but the finishing on the back was such a surprise!  She appliqued a wool leaf on the back and added a few beautiful little pins…

HOE Woodland Exchange from Lillie - View of Back

HOE Woodland Exchange from Lillie - View of Back

Lillie was generous…  I also received a great little zipper bag (perfect for stitching neccessities!), some stickers, cute little felt bunnies & clover and a really awesome pin disk with pins that she MADE.  Here’s a picture of the entire haul…

HOE Woodland Exchange from Lillie - All the Goodies!

HOE Woodland Exchange from Lillie - All the Goodies!

I had to take a closeup of the pins that she made for me…  How did she know that teal is one of my favorite colors???

HOE Woodland Exchange from Lillie - Pin Disk Closeup

HOE Woodland Exchange from Lillie - Pin Disk Closeup

Did I get lucky or what???

This was a very international exchange for me.  Lillie sent me her exchange from Malaysia and my exchange went to Nic in England.  Nic has already posted about what I sent her so now I can show you all pictures!

I stitched Four Fat Friends from The Drawn Thread.  It’s a freebie chart that is still available.  I knew by Nic’s blog that she really like The Drawn Thread so I thought it was perfect for the exchange.

I made her a beading wallet with little pockets.  The wallet is lined in the same material as bead mats.  I also made hera matching scissor case and a thread palatte.

Here’s the front of the wallet…  The fabric is from Moda Tranquility line…

HOE Woodland Exchange for Nic - Bead Wallet Front

HOE Woodland Exchange for Nic - Bead Wallet Front

On the back I quilted a design of a tree.  This has been fun for me.  I recently learned how to machine quilt so I’m taking every opportunity I can to practice.  Here’s a picture of the back…

HOE Woodland Exchange for Nic - Back

HOE Woodland Exchange for Nic - Back

This is a picture of the inside view when it’s opened…

HOE Woodland Exchange for Nic - Inside View

HOE Woodland Exchange for Nic - Inside View

Here’s a closeup of the pockets…

HOE Woodland Exchange for Nic - Closeup of the inside pockets with package of Piecemaker needles for Nic

HOE Woodland Exchange for Nic - Closeup of the inside pockets with package of Piecemaker needles for Nic

I also quilted the flap on the beading side to make it look like a bird.  Here’s a closeup…

HOE Woodland Exchange for Nic - Closeup of quilted inside, looks like a bird

HOE Woodland Exchange for Nic - Closeup of quilted inside, looks like a bird

When you open the flap, the inside is lined in bead mat material.  It’s great because the beads won’t slide around and it makes beading WAY easier…  Nic posted that she has already used it for beading and loves it!

HOE Woodland Exchange for Nic - Inside view of beading wallet

HOE Woodland Exchange for Nic - Inside view of beading wallet

Then I also made her a matching scissor case in the same fabric.  Here’s a picture…

HOE Woodland Exchange for Nic - Scissor Case

HOE Woodland Exchange for Nic - Scissor Case

I also decided to add a thread palatte to her exchange.  I used a scrapbook journal card and quilted a wool page on and attached a couple of marking pins.  Here are pictures…

HOE Woodland Exchange for Nic - Thread Palatte

HOE Woodland Exchange for Nic - Thread Palatte

Here’s a closeup  You can see that I quilted the shape of a tree onto the wool.

HOE Woodland Exchange for Nic - Closeup of Thread Palatte

HOE Woodland Exchange for Nic - Closeup of Thread Palatte

I’m so thrilled that Nic loved what I sent her and she’s using everything!  I have to tell you…  I am really loving exchanging.  I’m hooked!

I also wanted to share what I gave JLee for her birthday.  JLee is nuts over acorns!  So I decided to make her a needlebook using Moda Fabulous Fall fabric.  I wanted to share pictures becaue I’m so proud of how it turned out.

Here’s the front.

Needlebook for JLee - Front

Needlebook for JLee - Front

Here’s a closeup…  I’m very proud of this….  I quilted an acorn design onto the cover…

Needlebook for JLee - Closeup of Front...  Check out the quilted acorns

Needlebook for JLee - Closeup of Front... Check out the quilted acorns

Here’s a picture of the back and the fabric I chose…

Needlebook for JLee - Back

Needlebook for JLee - Back

Here are pictures of the inside.  You’ll notice the little pocket.  The needle pages are hand-dyed wools…

Needlebook for JLee - Inside

Needlebook for JLee - Inside

Needlebook for JLee - Inside Pocket

Needlebook for JLee - Inside Pocket

JLee loved her needlebook.  I already told her that I’m going to make her a coordinating scissor case.  She’s such a special friend.  I tell you…  giving gifts to good friends…  nothing much else compares!

Have a great day and don’t forget to stitch!  I’ll post more tomorrow because tomorrow I get to take a class with Ann Petit called “Good Fortune”.  Yeah!!!  I’ll be taking the class at Where Victoria’s Angels Stitch in Clifton, NJ.  Tawny, the shop owner, told me that her new web site is almost ready.  The new version isn’t up yet but will be soon.  Tawny is a good friend of mine.  She’s one of those people that it can take a little bit to get to know her but when you do, you realize that she’s a true-blue good person with a heart of gold.

3 Responses

  1. Your exchanges are both beautiful. What great things to receive. It looks like you took so much time and care in constructing yours. Wonderful job. And your mentioned WVAS. I have been wanting to go to that shop. I visit New York City every November and understand that it’s very close by bus to where I stay. I am definitely going to have to get there this year because I hear so much about it! Anyway, beautiful exchanges!

  2. Both are simply wonderful!

Leave a Reply

