Taking the day off!

Well it’s Friday and I decided that I needed an R&R day.  I’ve been having migraines all week and they wiped me out.  So I’m not sure exactly what I’m going to do today.  Of course I’d love to go stitch with my friends at the library but there is so much that I need to work on here at home.  I’ll see them all tomorrow though for out monthly stitching get together! 

I really need to catch up on getting some eBay stuff up and I need to sew some needlework accessories.  I have a great idea for a bead wallet that can be used for storing WIP beads if you are using them for your stitching or doing peyote work.  I’d like to sew up a few to give to Tawny if I have the time.

I did want to share a few exciting finds!

I dropped in on one of my local quilting shops.  They have a mystery quilt that just started.  I wasn’t considering doing it until I spotted some fabric that literally screamed at me to turn it into a quilt.  The mystery quilt jut tells you how much to buy for your Light, Medium, Dark fabrics and for the border & backing (I am holding off on buying for the binding right now).  I fell in love with a dark fabric from the new RJR Sakura line.  The others fell into place.

Fabrics for my Mystery Quilt

Fabrics for my Mystery Quilt

I’m using the gold fabric as the Light fabric and the light blue as the medium.  The gold fabric is a Kauffman fabric but I liked it better than the coordinating Sakura fabric.  I wanted a little bit of glitz.  The fabric on the bottom is the backing fabric which I think is just perfect.  The dark fabric will be the border fabric.  I’m making a Queen size quilt and even though I’m working on my sampler quilt, this mayhave to go on my bed.  I just love it.  I love the Asian fabrics, especially with the gold accents.

Here’s a closeup of the fabrics…..  can you see why I went crazy over them?  They are screaming to me “Quilt Me Baby!  Quilt Me!”

Mystery Quilt Fabrics Closeup

Mystery Quilt Fabrics Closeup

I also have another great find.  Someone on the Legacy BB gave me the hint that the best scissors to cut cardboard are Kevlar scissors.  I buy acid free cardboard for my finishing and I’ve always struggled with cutting it accurately and cleanly without hand fatigue.  I found a pair of Kevlar scissors (meaning made to cut Kevlar) on eBay.  I’m thrilled about this pair since they are on the smaller side and I think wll work better for precise cuts.  These are made by Clauss.

Clauss Kevlar scissors I bought on eBay

Clauss Kevlar scissors I bought on eBay

Well, I’d better get to posting on eBay!  I have a bunch of couture ribbons that I’m selling for my mom that I need to post and I need to get some Cross Stitch magazines up.  Maybe some other things too…  I have all the Just Nan Tin series that I need to post and a whole pile of other things!

8 Responses

  1. I love the fabrics you choose. That light blue with the cranes is killing me.

  2. Those fabrics are fabulous! I’m looking forward to seeing your progress. Those scissors are a great find!

    • Thanks! I’m looking forward to making progress on it. I have the first 2 monthly installments so far (need to start). There are 6 all together.

  3. That fabric is definitely screaming to be made into a quilt. Absolutely beautiful. I can’t wait to see how this starts coming together. I’ve done a couple of mystery quilts and it’s so much fun to see them come together. I just picked up a pair of those scissors too. I got tired of trying to cut cardboard, etc., with the regular household scissors.

    • LOL… Deb, enjoy the scissors!!! I tested mine on the package that they came in. Went through the cardboard and plastic like I was cutting regular paper. AMAZING!
      Stacy

  4. The fabrics your chose are gorgeous!! The kind that you buy simply because you fall in love with them, and will figure out what to make, later! lol
    They are going to make a fantastic quilt! I can hardly wait to see your progress!!

    What interesting scissors. I’m going to have to check them out!

    Thanks for sharing! I’m always learning new things! lol

  5. Your dragonfly threadkeeper is gorgeous–congrats on a beautiful design! Thx for stopping by my blog! I’m adding you to my roll now.

Leave a Reply

