Remebering Sandy

I haven’t blogged in a while.  Things have been so busy and life has been just plain hard.  I’ll post updates on my projects a little later but this post is specifically in memory of my wonderful old cat, Sandy.  Sandy, age 15, passed this morning while curled in my arms.  He has been in renal failure for a couple of months and last night when I got home from work, I found him to be very sick.  So this morning I made the difficult decision to let my Sand-man go…

This is a picture of my boy on the day that met him, only 2 years ago….

Sandy

Sandy’s story is a story about tragedy and second chances.  When Sandy was 13 years old, his owner had him brought to be boarded at the local vet (who incidentally also provides animal control facilities for several townships).  His owner was ill and had to go into the hospital.  Sandy and the two other cats (ages eighteen and eight) spent the next few months at the vet.  During this time, the 18 year old passed away from kidney failure.  Sandy’s owner continued to pay board and to hope that she would be well enough to go home and to be reunited with her cats.  Sadly, this was not to be and she died while there at the hospital.  So Sandy, diagnosed hyperthyroid, and his younger house mate because wards of the township.  The daughter of the deceased woman came to the vet and took the younger cat home with her.  She wanted nothing to do with Sandy so he was left there alone, in a cage, waiting to be adopted, rescued or killed.  What chance did a 13 year old hyperthyroid cat have, especially in a facility where no one even knows that cats are available for adoption?  At the time, I was doing quite a bit of fostering for a local cat rescue.  My rescue tries to help cats at this shelter when we can.  Sandy’s case, however bleak, fell on our hearts and he was taken from his cage and brought to stay with my local animal control officer in her home.  This picture was taken on the day of rescue so that we could list him on Petfinder.  At the time, I had recently lost my 20 year old cat, Jazz, to cancer.  Jazz had been hyperthyroid and I knew how easy it was to treat and maintain.  My heart ached for Sandy and my resolve to not add anymore permanent cats to my home disappeared.  I decided to adopt him.  And I have never, for one day, regretted that decision.

Sandy arrived at my house as a grumpy old man.  He didn’t get along with my other cats so I moved him upstairs in my house so that he could live in my bedroom and loft.  At first he was aloof.  Never unfriendly, but aloof.  Slowly, he decided that I was his human.  Sandy and I developed a strong bond.  He would sleep in my bed at night (always on top of the covers) and had to be literally on top of me.  As I turned over at night he would move in unison and “body surf”.  He loved the window seat that I made for him, especially after I added the sheepskin.  He would sleep there or on the dog bed.  Joey is a cat-pesterer but he has never once bothered with Sandy.  I think Sandy gave off the vibe that said “you don’t even want to go there!”  That grumpy old man cat went away and was replaced with a gentle and affectionate smushy-loveball.  Sandy’s temperament was golden.  I could easily give him his pills while he sat on my lap and even though he detested having his claws trimmed or having mats removed (that inevitably formed twice a year when he blew his coat) he never even once considered biting or scratching me.  Sandy was pure love and he would talk to me in that little Persian voice.  I would ask him “Are you telling me stories?” and he would answer, very melodically.

I feel a terrible loss today.  I am so grateful though to have had the chance to share my life and home with this amazing cat for 2 short years. 

I will miss you sweet, wonderful Sand-man.  The best old-man-kitty in the world….

10 Responses

  1. Stacey I am so sorry for your loss, Sandy was such a beautiful boy. Hugs.

  2. I am so sorry for your loss. Thank you for sharing Sandy’s story.

  3. I am so sorry. This story of Sandy is wonderful, you are very good person, and you had lucy to meet Sandy – Sandy had lucy to meet you.

  4. Stacy,

    So sorry to hear about Sandy. Your post was a beautiful memorial to him. It’s so hard to make that decision, but for him, he’s free of his pain and discomfort, and that’s something all of us want for our beloved pets. Just know that I’m thinking about you and Sandy. ~~Hugs~~ Joanne

  5. I am so very sorry for your loss. That is such a hard decision to make. What a sweet memorial to such a beautiful cat.

  6. Stacy, I’m sitting here with tears in my eyes. I am so sorry. It’s so hard to let them go.
    robin

  7. I am so sorry for your loss! He looks like he was a sweetie, and it’s so great that you gave him a home in his twilight years.

  8. (((Stacy))) I’m so sorry for your loss but I’m glad that you had two wonderful years with Sandy. Cherish the memories you have of him.

  9. Stacy you are wonderful and Sandy was as lucky to have him as you were to have him.

    And I hope this story teaches people how great “second-hand” cats are. My own second-hand kitty is the most beautiful loving boy. And like yours, he sleeps on top of the covers in our bed every night.

  10. What a beautiful story; I had tears in my eyes at the end. Reminds me of our family’s “Secondhand Cat” that I lived with at about age 12.

Leave a Reply

